I’m gonna make it by any means, I got a pocketful of dreams…

I have some exciting news! Today was my very first day at The Beehive Salon in Islip. The Beehive originally opened in Williamsburg, Brooklyn in 2002 by owner Jeanine Longo. Recently, The Beehive decided to head out east and open up a location on the beautiful south shore of Long Island, right on Main Street in Islip. I was very sad to leave De Berardinis Salon (located on 21st Street in Chelsea). I had made some really great friends and learned so much in the four months I was there (thank you a million times specifically to Adrian, Mari, Davide, & Amanda who were so patient in explaining & teaching everything to me). However, the commute was way too expensive and with a sprinkle of snow the LIRR would shut down so it was always a difficult time getting to and from work. My grandpa has also been going to and from doctors so it will be better me being closer to home to keep him company and be there if he needs me. He may drive me crazy sometimes but we are close buddies. De Berardinis is such a beautiful, classy, great salon so if you’re ever in NYC, make sure to stop by 155 West 21st Street (located between 6th and 7th ave -closer to 7th) and get a service done!

Today was an easy day at work, I basically got to know where everything is and how to set up, I also got to help out some clients. I love the fact that the salon is located right in Islip on Main Street because it is so much closer than NYC to many friends, family members, family friends, people I grew up with that I will hopefully convert to Beehive clients. I assist the stylist every Tuesday-Friday until 3:30pm and then can take my own clients anytime from 4pm on and all day on Saturdays. Since I am considered a “New Bee” they offer promotional prices for my services, since I am still learning. If you’re interested in a service feel free to email me at thedailysnip@yahoo.com or call the salon at (631) 650-6767 and mention you would like to book with me, Kelly! You can view the menu of services on their website which I linked above (in the first paragraph). Besides hair cut and color we offer a full menu of nail services, waxing, spray tans, extensions, and more! Check us out! I am really looking forward to working with such a creative group of people, I really agree with the whole philosophy of the salon and think I will learn a lot, all while keeping busy with new clients!

 

In other news:

My friend Shannon from De Berardinis Salon recently started her own blog called Remedy Vixen. Remedy Vixen focuses on cost effective makeup, hair, and fashion trends. Shannon refers to her blog as “The Pretty Cheap Revolution” and so far all of her tricks she has posted have been the best! I’ve tried a few of them already and they work! Make sure you check out her blog and give her some support…shes the coolest rocker chick I know!

A few posts ago I wrote about my favorite and least favorite hairstyles at the Golden Globes. In case you were wondering how to achieve any of these hairstyles here is a link with some how to’s: GG Edition…If any of you readers have long (shoulder length or longer) pretty hair and would like to be a model for me I’d love to do some ‘how to’ hair videos soon! Just email me at thedailysnip@yahoo.com. Here’s the link: Golden Globe Hair

 

I hope your week got off to a nice start! It’s aaaalmost Friday…c’mon tomorrow is Wednesday, we’re half way there! I am especially excited for Friday because I get to go up to Marist to visit my boyfriend and all my Marist friends! I am so lucky to have made such great friends without even attending school there…I can’t wait to see you all!

“The only place where success comes before work is the dictionary.” -Vidal Sassoon

“The two most important requirements for major success are: first, being in the right place at the right time, and second, doing something about it.” -Ray Kroc

2 thoughts on “I’m gonna make it by any means, I got a pocketful of dreams…

  1. yeay! i’m so happy you’re at the beehive now, i know you’re going to love it and be super successful there!! love youxoxo

Leave a Reply

