May angels lead you in…

When something tragic happens it forces you to look at your life and examine exactly what it is you’re wasting so much time stressing over. I feel like whenever something bad happens it just points out, to me, how insignificant a lot of my “problems” really are. I wish I could remember this all the time and live a life knowing that in the end I will remember things that made me happy and not some stupid little thing that made me anxious for 30 seconds. I’m saying this because I am saddened over the loss of a young life just a few days ago. I did not know this young woman at all but heard of her struggle with cancer and vaguely knew about it because she was a graduate of my high school, in my younger sisters year. In honor of this young woman’s life I wanted to do a positive post on a charity I hold near to my heart, Lock of Love.

Last January, Sassoon Academy participated in UCLA’s third annual Locks of Love event. As stated on their website, Locks of Love is “a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. We meet a unique need for children by using donated hair to create the highest quality hair prosthetics. Our mission is to return a sense of self, confidence and normalcy to children suffering from hair loss by utilizing donated ponytails to provide the highest quality hair prosthetics to financially disadvantaged children.” Over 240 students, faculty, and alumni showed up to donate five or more inches of their hair.

The event was all day long and by the end, around 7:30 pm, we were exhausted. Each of us did about 5 haircuts which was way more than we have ever done in one day. But regardless of how tired we were I don’t think any of us left without feeling a little inspired by all the good deeds that happened in there.

My favorite client of the day was 4 year old, Siena. Siena told me that she saw kids like her on TV one day and didn’t know why they didn’t have hair, so she asked her parents if she could give one of them her ponytail because that is what a princess would do. Shockingly her parents agreed…so, we cut about a foot off from her hair! I was moved by this little girl. I hope another little girl is somewhere in the world on her way to health and happiness and having fun with her new hair piece thanks to Siena.

Here I am featured on the LA Times website with Siena:

All in all it was a really great experience that I am very grateful to have participated in. I am hoping this year I can participate in a St. Baldrick’s event that my #1 client Matt puts together. St. Baldrick’s is another great charity for cancer- As stated on their website “The St. Baldrick’s Foundation is a volunteer-driven charity committed to funding the most promising research to find cures for childhood cancers and give survivors long and healthy lives.” If you have the chance I strongly suggest you participate in either of these charities, you could be greatly improving somebodys life.

I’d like to share some pictures from the event:

Here is the UCLA Alumni Association’s Flickr page with all the after pictures of the donators: UCLA Flickr

And here is our write up on the LA Times website! I am featured in picture #7: LA Times

I also found a YouTube video that the Alumni Association posted and thought it would be nice to share, my friend Katy is the student doing the cut:

I’d like to say thank you to my sister Colleen (thedailycraic) for cutting off her ponytail the other night and for sending it in to Locks of Love.

Thanks Coll!

If you would like to donate your hair all you have to do is have your stylist secure it in a ponytail (preferably 10 inches+), place it in a ziplock baggie and send it to:

Locks of Love

234 Southern Blvd

West Palm Beach, FL 33405

 

Please keep the young woman that I am thinking of and her family in your prayers…

“If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives; be kind anyway. If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies; succeed anyway. If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you; be honest and frank anyway. What you spend years building, someone could destory overnight; build anyway.”

– Mother Teresa

One thought on “May angels lead you in…

  1. Kelly, I loved every single thing about this blog. What an inspiration! This is the stuff that needs to be on Facebk etc& sent out into the universe!! Keep up the good work! Godbless! Luvu

Leave a Reply

