Somewhere only we know

When I was in kindergarten I had a best friend named Joey. I’m still not sure how but Joey passed away suddenly. I can actually remember noticing Joey not being present in school and wondering where he went. I must’ve had a hard time with this when I was younger because after he passed I would build forts all over our house and stay in them for hours. I specifically remember one fort I build in our old TV room, a very small space between the couch and the fire place. I don’t really remember how I buildt these forts but in my memories they are these wonderful hide aways. I remember building this particular fort in this area because my Nana was sitting on the side of the couch watching TV and if I lifted the “wall,” aka the blanket, she would pass me Mallomars, the best cookies ever. Anyways, it makes sense why Molly and I had such a great desire to build a fort last night, on her last night home before returning to school. We’re both going through a rough time right now so I guess we’re just looking for a place where none of “that stuff” exists, or we just really miss being 6 years old again…soooo…..four queen size sheets, four blankets, one quilt, a million pillows, 10,000 stuffed animals, and two unicorn pillowpets later we had our fort. I know, we’re weird, but we had fun and it was super comfy. I’m not taking this fort down until Molly comes home for Christmas break, it’s holding strong and it really keeps the draft from making me freeze in the middle of the night. Here are some pictures:

Molly sleeping in Fort Awesome with her unicorn I bought her.

 

Moving on…today was another great day. My cheeks hurt from smiling and laughing all day long with “Reggie” aka Regina. We took the 8:35 train to Penn Station and went straight to the Salon. We did her single process, with guidance from my awesome teacher, Amanda. After finishing Regina’s color we went to visit our boys, Mr. Grosso and John, at work. Their office is beautiful! I was so impressed with John! After saying goodbye, we grabbed lunch and headed for the train, I had to be home by 3:15 to make a doctors appointment. Here are some pictures from the salon:

And a random picture that Regina showed me on her phone from the wedding. I have to share this picture because I love it and it made me smile so freaking big:

I’m taller!!!

What a great day. I like the way things are going for me right now…This is how happy I am:

Enjoy your day today!

 

“We all get lost once in awhile, sometimes by choice, sometimes due to forces beyond our control. When we learn what it is our soul needs to learn, the path presents itself. Sometimes we see the way out but wander further and deeper despite ourselves; the fear, the anger or the sadness preventing us from returning. Sometimes we prefer to be lost and wandering, sometimes it’s easier. Sometimes we find our own way out. But regardless, always, we are found.”

8 thoughts on “Somewhere only we know

  1. Kelly- my hair looks FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!! AND I had the best day!!!!! I am so proud of you for finding your own path and singing your own song !!!!! Love you lots !!!!!! You make the world a lovely place to be

  2. that fort looks so legit. i cannot wait to build a real one. outdoors. with wood, and nails, and hammers. yeah! and, Regina’s hair looks so good, you little hair dresser you!

  3. Kelly — I’ve been loving reading the blog, you’ve been doing an awesome job. I used this quote today right after reading your post to help a friend who has been finding herself in her a rut. Keep up the great work 🙂

    1. Aww thanks Meag, that means a lot to me! I’m so glad people are enjoying the blog. I’m trying to end all my posts with a nice quote, I’m glad you were able to pass this one along..I hope it helped!

  4. Kelly — I’ve been loving reading the blog, you’ve been doing an awesome job. I used this quote today right after reading your post to help a friend out of a rut… Keep up the great work 🙂

  5. i want to sleep in the fort!!! Reading your blog warms my heart. Im amazed at how awesome my kids are!!! I must have done something right, huh!!?? Godbless…I luvu guys with all my heart&soul. Keep making us smile.

  6. Joey Garbarino!! May he rest in peace…I hope his brother Stephen& his parents are well&happy. May God bless them&know that we remember Joey in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

